My first rugby game

No matter how many times someone explains American football to me, I will never actually understand the game. Going to my very first rugby game, I was shocked to find how much easier it was to understand. But don’t worry, the fans are just as crazy, if not crazier!

Essentially, there are two 40-minute halves and the players play continuously with almost no time outs. You can only throw the ball sideways or backwards and you have six chances to get a “try” which is a touchdown equivalent. Players don’t wear any pads and they beat the crap out of each other. I’m shocked at how any of them are still alive/wonder how many concussions each player had.

IMG_6183

My suburb of Sydney, Redfern, is represented by the South Sydney Rabbitohs. Our colors are red and green and our mascot is a rabbit. The stadium is a 15-minute walk from my apartment and tickets are pretty cheap which means I’ll definitely be back for more! The stadium was huge and almost every seat was full which was pretty insane. We beat the Manly Sea Eagles 23-4!

IMG_6191

Because they scored more than 20 points, I got a free six inch from Subway. I even took a selfie with the mascot Reggie!

IMG_6186

Cheers.

 


In my next blog:

  • How I learned to safely jump 30 meters down from a rock
  • How I camped on a cliff in the Blue Mountains
Leave a Reply

